Book Haul!

I thought I’d share some of the books that I have recently acquired.

IMG_1823-COLLAGE

Throughout the months of November, December and part of January I bought a total of 13 books.

Fiction

Seven of the thirteen were fiction books from a variety of genres including fantasy, classics, and historical fiction. I picked up:

  1. Father Brown: The Essential Tales by G.K. Chesterton
  2. Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell
  3. Ruin by John Gwynne 
  4. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles
  5. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
  6. The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins 
  7. The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenerolla  (translated by Sonia Soto)

Nonfiction

The nonfiction books I picked up were related to what I found myself interested in during 2017. So they were all related to those interests such as women biographies, and since I loved reading Evening in the Palace of Reason (I’ll link my review here) by James R. Gaines I picked up a biography of Johann Sebastian Bach. I bought the following:

  1. The Selected Letters of Laura Ingalls Wilder  edited by William Anderson
  2. The Woman who would be King by Kara Cooney
  3. Johann Sebastian Bach by Christoph Wolff
  4. The Story of Egypt by Joann Fletcher
  5. Scandalous Women by Elizabeth Kerri Mahon
  6. Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured by Kathryn Harrison