March Wrap-Up

E37D7F98-82DA-48BB-8EEE-779375D169C9

Here are all the books that I read in the month of March, better late than never right. I read a total of 10 things not including all the Batman comics that I also read. It was a pretty heavy nonfiction month 6 out of the 10 books were nonfiction 

1. Hildegard of Bingen by Fiona Maddocks

My Review

2. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

My Review

3. Princesses Behaving Badly by Linda Rodrigues McRobbie 

I listened to the audio book of this book and I think that the audio book version of the books was not the best way for me to read this book. The narrator was very good but after a while all the princesses blurred into one. Some did stick out (like Lucrezia  Borgia and Pauline Napoleon’s sister) but the others were not so memorable and all blurred together. I do think that if I had read a physical copy of this book little by little it would be really interesting.

4. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

This book is a fictionalized account of the last execution in Iceland told by several people the woman being executed who is meant to find solace in religion, the priest, and the family hosting her till her execution. I did really enjoy this book it is beautifully written and powerful. It is a book that shows the powerful relationship that can build between people and the impact even one life has on others even unintentionally.

5. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

This book was a fascinating study of what makes a introvert, how society sees introverts and how to relate meaningful to introverts. This book was really quite good and made a study of the positive traits of introverts that are overlooked in an society that values extroversion. I loved this book it made me look at things in a different light and certainly gave me more understanding of myself and others.

6. The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore

I never thought that reading a book about wonder woman would make me wish the book was more about wonder woman but this book was mostly about the creator of wonder woman who was influenced by by the suffrage and feminist movements and his familial relationships. But sadly what this book was missing was wonder woman. I was looking for some in depth analysis on the actual comic but that was sadly lacking. This book was well written and the author makes the subject matter interesting the creator of wonder woman William Marsden certainly had an interesting romantic life and was the creator of the lie detector test.

7. The Caped Crusade: Batman and the Rise of Nerd Culture by Glen Weldon

This book gave me what I was missing in the wonder woman this book was less about the creator of batman but rather about the different phases that batman went through (Adam West to Neal Adams) and was really interesting I did really enjoy this book and it led me to read a ton of batman comics and rewatch Batman the Animated Series and Batman Beyond (which are fantastic by the way)

8. The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We do in Life and Business by Charles Duhigg

This book was all about habits just like the title says and I did enjoy this book especially the stories that were told in this book about how habit affected a whole business and a hospital.

9. Villette by Charlotte Bronte

This is a later novel of Charlotte Brontes’ and I did enjoy it but it wasn’t the greatest novel that I have ever read. It is the story of several relationships of the narrators but it took forever to get to the actual romantic relationship that the narrator forms. But it was a fairly interesting read.

10. America’s Women: 400 Years of Dolls, Drudges, helpmates and Heroines by Gail Collins

This book is one I also listened to on audiobook and like Princesses Behaving Badly I found that audiobook was not the best format for this book. From now on I’m going to stay away from audiobooks that are biographies about several women. I found that in the audio format they all blend together except for a few ladies. These are books that I should read the physical copy. But the subject matter in this book was incredibly interesting there are so many women who were integral to American History who are never mentioned.


Links to Books Mentioned:

Hildegard of Bingen by Fiona Maddocks

One thought on “March Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Super Late April TBR | ThroughTheWardrobetoMiddleEarth

Leave a Reply

