February Wrap-up :)

img_0701
Over the month of February I read a total of 10 books. Click and find out what I read this month!

1-5. The Temeraire Series

His Majesty’s Dragon (5/5 stars), Throne of Jade (5/5 stars), Black Powder War (4/5 stars). Empire of Ivory (4/5 stars) and Victory of Eagles (3/5 stars) 
Dragons and the regency period, The Napoleonic Wars with dragons, seriously what isn’t there to love.  As you might guess I love this book series especially the first two books: His Majesty’s Dragon and Throne of Jade. This book series is about a naval captain who get chosen by a dragon. The relationship that develops between Captain Laurence and Temeraire (the dragon) is adorable and very moving. As the series goes on the books get much more political and they dive into the major issues of the day like abolition and the Napoleonic Wars. The first two books in this series are my favorite so far. As the series went on I lost some interest because the emphasis was less on the relationship between Laurence and Temeraire and more on the larger problems that faced gradually larger groups of people. Hopefully soon I will read the next couple books in the series.

6. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

 Outlander has been on my to-read list for a while and since I was feeling in the mood for a romance I picked it up. This is a time-traveling romance where a women gets transported back to 18th century Scotland. (the land of the kilt) The heroine, Claire who (was or is? this is getting confusing) married in the 20th century ends up in love with another man in 18th century. Confusion of the morality of this aside, I thought this book was good. I did not think that it was spectacular but it was worth reading. However, I don’t think that I’ll be picking up the sequels anytime soon. But as a standalone romance it definitely hit the spot.

7. The Sound of Freedom

(3.5/5 stars)  I did a full review so I’ll link it here

8. Romantic Outlaws

(4/5 stars) I will be doing a review soon!

9. The Best of Sherlock Holmes

 (3/5 stars) Its Sherlock Holmes need I say more. However, I definitely thought that some stories were definitely better than others. The stories that had interesting side characters were definitely the stories that I liked the most. The most famous example of this is The Scandal in Bohemia which introduces the very famous character of Irene Adler. I wish that there would have been more stories with her in them. But what can I say the Sherlock Holmes stories certainly deserve their fame and were certainly entertaining to read.

10. A Bride Most Begrudging

(2/5 stars) After reading Outlander I found that I wanted to read some more romance and this is a romance novel between a kidnapped high class lady, who loves math, forced on a ship to America and a American planter and the predictable ensues. It was a very predictable novel with nothing that was really exciting happening. However, if your in the mood for a predictable romance novel this is a fairly good one.

Relevant Links:

One thought on “February Wrap-up :)

  1. Pingback: March Wrap-Up | ThroughTheWardrobetoMiddleEarth

Leave a Reply

